Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: problems with my comp

  1. #1
    Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    32
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:9332709
    Posts
    832
    Rep Power
    15

    Default problems with my comp

    well i have a problem with my computer. i noticed it just happens when im playing. when i start to play everything seems to be ok. but after a few minutes my screen turns black and i cant see the game anymore. happens for a few seconds then the game comes back for like 2 secs and it turns black again. it happened in css and l4d.
    smurf said it could be the video card but hes not 100% sure about it. ill install some other games tomorrow and see if its also on those games.
    maybe one of you guys can help me out and tell me if its rly the vid card.
    thanks

    Saj.
    [CENTER][url=http://www.finalbattleground.com/profile/Sajora/][img]http://sig.finalbattleground.com/p/3588.jpg[/img][/url]

    [URL=http://img594.imageshack.us/i/sajoraforum.jpg/][IMG]http://img594.imageshack.us/img594/3315/sajoraforum.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

    [url=http://www.n00bunlimited.net/hlstats/hlstats.php?mode=playerinfo&player=54][img]http://www.n00bunlimited.net/hlstats/sig-54-random.png[/img][/url][/CENTER]

  2. #2
    N/U Special Forces
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Age
    45
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:10488049
    Posts
    661
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    sajoria,
    i got 2 applications that you can run and tell ya what the problem is

    first: PassMark BurnInTest software - PC Reliability and Load Testing
    second: Futuremark - Download
    (trial versions for both are fine unless ya have money to buy full versions)

    on the first one go to select test and chose CPU, ram, video, 2 d and 3 d graphics set every thing to max CLOSE ALL APPLICATIONS!!!!!!! NOTING MUST BE RUNNING IN THE BACKGROUND NO INTERNET OR GAMES NOTHING BUT YOUR DESKTOP ** VERY IMPORTANT CAUSE IT WILL MAX EVERYTHING ON YOUR COMPUTER OUT FOR THE TEST**
    it will run for bout 30 mins and don't fuck with your computer during that time


    the second test open application make sure everything is correct in fields for your computer ans as above CLOSE ALL APPLICATIONS!!!
    than start test but this time sit there and watch the show for and video errors or problems there's 2 test on there that bypasses your video card and run strictly off your CPU these two test will run slow no matter how good your computer is so don't pay attention to them but all the others watch for video problems


    if ya get a fail on any part of test on first it will telll you where problem lyes
    the second one ya mostly have to catch the errors yourself

    let me know what ya get
    and your welcome
    KAMI
    [IMG]http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w47/badass4625/KamisSig.gif[/IMG]

    [URL="http://www.gametracker.com/player/Kamikaze%20Bad%20Ass%20%C3%97%C2%AA%2F%C3%8F%C2%8D/74.86.102.230:27015/"][IMG]http://cache.www.gametracker.com/player/Kamikaze%20Bad%20Ass%20%C3%97%C2%AA%2F%C3%8F%C2%8D/74.86.102.230:27015/b_560x95.png[/IMG][/URL]

  3. #3
    N/U Commando
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep/The Netherlands/Close to Amsterdam
    Age
    33
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:12249747
    Posts
    417
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    well what to say about it.. i have the same problem as well.. but it only happens to me once a few few months so... i doubt its the vid card.. but u never know.. maybe it just got to hot...
    i had this problem also before i bought a new comp.. but it i don't know if its the comp then or the game it self..

    take care

    Yours,

    Breaker

  4. #4
    N/U Special Forces
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Age
    45
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:10488049
    Posts
    661
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    ya I'm not a computer expert but defiantly a computer geek cause of by brother being a computer programmer and shit and i hang out at the local computer geeks store i can normally trouble shoot problems

    and if your having problems with games like video or performance
    it's normally one of 4 things
    Video card processor or overheating ( my current problem)
    ram not compatible or bad
    processor issues
    or your video card slot on motherboard or possibly some else on motherboard is bad

    comps are really like cars in every sense of the word they have many compents that must work in sync if one goes bad you got problems
    [IMG]http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w47/badass4625/KamisSig.gif[/IMG]

    [URL="http://www.gametracker.com/player/Kamikaze%20Bad%20Ass%20%C3%97%C2%AA%2F%C3%8F%C2%8D/74.86.102.230:27015/"][IMG]http://cache.www.gametracker.com/player/Kamikaze%20Bad%20Ass%20%C3%97%C2%AA%2F%C3%8F%C2%8D/74.86.102.230:27015/b_560x95.png[/IMG][/URL]

  5. #5
    Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    32
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:9332709
    Posts
    832
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    i did that first thing and tested everything but it didnt show any errors.
    i installed CoD4 and played it but nothing happened with the screen yet. well it went black for 2 secs between the levels but it came back and stayed. i think ill install some more games and see if the same shit happens.
    [CENTER][url=http://www.finalbattleground.com/profile/Sajora/][img]http://sig.finalbattleground.com/p/3588.jpg[/img][/url]

    [URL=http://img594.imageshack.us/i/sajoraforum.jpg/][IMG]http://img594.imageshack.us/img594/3315/sajoraforum.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

    [url=http://www.n00bunlimited.net/hlstats/hlstats.php?mode=playerinfo&player=54][img]http://www.n00bunlimited.net/hlstats/sig-54-random.png[/img][/url][/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    In a box, next to siosios's
    Age
    45
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:4815880
    Posts
    860
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    well i would say since you play 26 hrs a day, I would say it's your vid card getting to hot....if thats not it....it would be your ram. I would say it's not your cpu as you would have more issues than that. I also, think it is not your mobo.... cause it would shut down/off usually.


    gl hope you get your rig back up soon.
    [img]http://www.sloganizer.net/en/style7,n00b-spc-Unlimited.png[/img]
    [URL=http://3mb.us/view-738_pasties_final_revised.gif][img]http://3mb.us/images/738_pasties_final_revised.gif[/img][/URL]

    Turtletara420: Hahahaha. Pasties Yes Ur the master....always
    Turtletara420: Prob. shouldn't have said that, but yes...Ur the master!!! I bow at ur feet! Oh master how can I serve

  7. #7
    Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    32
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:9332709
    Posts
    832
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    well i checked if its overheating but the temp was at 72°C when it happened. and today when i stopped playing CoD it was on 80°C and it didnt happen except the short thing between the levels. i duno if 72 and 80 counts as overheating but nothing happened at 80.
    im confused lol
    [CENTER][url=http://www.finalbattleground.com/profile/Sajora/][img]http://sig.finalbattleground.com/p/3588.jpg[/img][/url]

    [URL=http://img594.imageshack.us/i/sajoraforum.jpg/][IMG]http://img594.imageshack.us/img594/3315/sajoraforum.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

    [url=http://www.n00bunlimited.net/hlstats/hlstats.php?mode=playerinfo&player=54][img]http://www.n00bunlimited.net/hlstats/sig-54-random.png[/img][/url][/CENTER]

  8. #8
    Ryan
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sajora View Post
    well i checked if its overheating but the temp was at 72°C when it happened. and today when i stopped playing CoD it was on 80°C and it didnt happen except the short thing between the levels. i duno if 72 and 80 counts as overheating but nothing happened at 80.
    im confused lol
    While those temps are pretty hot, they are not killer temperatures (for graphics cards). Temperatures above 80c might cause some problems such as artifacts, but in many cases a graphics card could continue on to temperatures above that. It would not hurt to try and dissipate some of that heat.

    Adding some air flow might just do the trick, as the vRAM might be running a little hot. If not, you might try updating to the latest drivers and see if that helps at all.

  9. #9
    Inactive Trailor Trash
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Flagpole AZ
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:13039896
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    wow those temps are A LOT higher than i would ever let min get. try running with the case cover open.
    another thing it could be is your monitor. mine did that before it went out.
    If the ram is bad your comp will freeze. or just not work. it wouldn't make your screen go off and on like you say.
    lower your temps. mine never get above 55C
    Blaming a gun for killing someone is like blaming a pencil for a miss spelled word.

  10. #10
    Inactive Pwnerator
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:19132046
    Posts
    241
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Saj (Sie Frau),
    What did you change recently? Anything?

    If not, first, clean out your pc. CPU heatsink and such, blow out the vid card heatsink/fan unit as well. Many CPU's now will regulate speed based on temp and if it's getting too hot, it could cause a lot of issues. (I generally see tremendous performance increases in CSS after cleaning out my pc if I wait too long since CSS is so CPU intensive).

    Generally, It would seem like driver issues, but if you haven't updated anything then probably don't need to worry about that. Also, if it is only an issue with games, I would look first to a heat issue (80c is really high, even for old P4's that run super hot).

    Only other thing that hasn't been covered is to maybe look at your power supply if you've added any hardware recently, it's possible that the power supply being overly worked could dick up the video.

    But again, as Pasties said.... You play 23 hours a day....
    Last edited by rjk83; 03-24-2009 at 10:43 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Skyline cs:s problems
    By Skyline in forum N00B Unlimited General Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-26-2009, 05:51 PM
  2. Problems with Reg office?
    By royalewitcheese in forum Regular Office
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2008, 04:37 PM
  3. Forum suggestions/problems
    By NoSympathy in forum N00B Unlimited General Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-14-2008, 10:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •