Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: GFX Card Upgrade

  1. #1
    Banned Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fuckin Ohio!
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:28811228
    Posts
    2.438
    Rep Power
    0

    Default GFX Card Upgrade

    So, dot's looking to upgrade his GFX card as my system rating is showing my graphics to be the cause of my problems.

    Problem, money is an issue, so I doubt i'll be able to get a top-notch graphics card.

    So is do ya'll know of anywhere i can get one that will run Source on max details, or tf2 on moderate details?

    P.S. I'm not a computer guru, so don't reply in like x=mc squared or what not.

    -Dot

  2. #2
    Emmisary of C'thulhu Trailor Trash
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Age
    33
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:12699834
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    15
    [url=http://profile.xfire.com/tinosku][img]http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/1/tinosku.png[/img][/url]
    [color=indigo]"One death is a tragedy, a million is just a statistic." [/color]
    [IMG]http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b350/J_T_Squirrel/serenity-fruity-oaty-bar.jpg[/IMG]

  3. #3
    Inactive N/U Marine
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    34
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:10894922
    Posts
    302
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    what kinda card do u have now?
    .....baddie
    [IMG]http://i350.photobucket.com/albums/q427/Ender_less/badfish_sig_glass.png[/IMG]

  4. #4
    N/U Commando
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Jerseyville Il.
    Age
    41
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:15012290
    Posts
    373
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    If you have Ati stay with a new Ati card same goes with Nvidia. Its hard to go from one to another without a reformat being done. Hope i didn't confuse you. Here... go to device manager and click on display adapter. whats it say ?

    Also you may try to OC your processor. I did mine from 3.4 stock up to 4.2 stable and that really helped out my frames. its maxed 299 the whole CSS video stress test.

    Once i know what card you have now i can point you in the right direction.
    Carry your last name, Don't let it carry you !

  5. #5
    Banned Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fuckin Ohio!
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:28811228
    Posts
    2.438
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Ill get back to you when i get home pen. Im in ny right now...tryna find jacks house...lol

    I wont be back till like sunday.

    I appreciate the help.

  6. #6
    Inactive
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    30
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:19650817
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I just bought that ati saphirre card, and its good enough

  7. #7
    Banned Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fuckin Ohio!
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:28811228
    Posts
    2.438
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Penatrater View Post
    If you have Ati stay with a new Ati card same goes with Nvidia. Its hard to go from one to another without a reformat being done. Hope i didn't confuse you. Here... go to device manager and click on display adapter. whats it say ?
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430

    Quote Originally Posted by Penatrater View Post
    Also you may try to OC your processor. I did mine from 3.4 stock up to 4.2 stable and that really helped out my frames. its maxed 299 the whole CSS video stress test.
    You lost me at the OC my processor...

    Quote Originally Posted by Penatrater View Post
    Once i know what card you have now i can point you in the right direction.
    This would be great

  8. #8
    CaNNoN fOddEr Kung Fu Master SmurfSniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Richmond Ky
    Age
    42
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:20295429
    Posts
    925
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    OC = overclock

    damn dot :P





  9. #9
    Banned Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fuckin Ohio!
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:28811228
    Posts
    2.438
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SmurfSniper View Post
    OC = overclock

    damn dot :P
    Still dont uunderstand rofl

  10. #10
    N/U Commando
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Jerseyville Il.
    Age
    41
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:15012290
    Posts
    373
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Ok your running a Nvidia card now so you will want to stay with Nvidia. So everything ATI ! throw out the window. IMO Nvidia is much better anyways. The new budget cards out now days will flat out scream if you buy the right one. i need to know more about your machine though.

    go to start, Control panel click System: Tell me what Processor you have. It should say AMD or Intel and a Speed. ie 2.6 or 3.0 GHZ. Then i need to know what RAM you have. 1 gig or 2 gigs ect.

    See the key is to match your components it saves time and money in the long run. Some people put a 75 dollar card in a 2000 dollar computer and they wonder where they went wrong at. lol

    I built my last PC and put the best stuff in it that was available at the time. Then moved to the country and can't even get internet lol. STILL ! But i went balls out on a GFX card and even with a 1000 dollar processer Intel Xtreme quad core 3.2 it couldnt push the Gtx 295s i had. So.... I had to over clock from 3.2 up to 4.6 speed to get it to run all together. Look at a computer like a football team if you will, When one part struggles, They all struggle ! till the fatal crash and burn.

    ok enough rambling... get back to me with info dotty.
    Carry your last name, Don't let it carry you !

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Server upgrade coming tonight!!
    By siosios in forum N/U Info
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 07:26 PM
  2. I need an AGP graphics card under 100$! help!
    By Russian Prince in forum N00B Unlimited General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2009, 11:45 PM
  3. Who needs a video card? Giving one away.
    By royalewitcheese in forum N00B Unlimited General Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-20-2008, 06:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •