Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: RAM Question

  1. #1
    Queen of the Internet Kung Fu Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1.879
    Rep Power
    17

    Default RAM Question

    About 3 years ago I bought this:

    Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model BL2KIT12864AA80A

    All the reviews now are almost 100% negative. I went with it because they were on sale for $30 and they had Cas Latency 4 but was 2gb of ram so looked like a good deal. Anyway, I think they crash my computer every time I start it up but I have no way of knowing that for sure, though I'm 90% sure it's them. But that's not my question. My question is like, why the fuck are they still almost $50? Is there anywhere I can get 2 1gb sticks of 240 pin DDR2 for less than I paid for three years ago? Like, what the fuck they were out of date when I bought them and today they're still the same price...

    Also, if I go with another brand, would it matter if the CAS Latency was different? If you go for 5 or 6 they are cheaper, but will it mess with these whose latency is 4? (4, 4, 4, 12)
    [img]http://unix.org.au/~brett/gif/waldioaw1.gif[/img]
    [color=royalblue][b]Forum and Server Administrator[/b][/color]
    PasTieZ: I am scared now thanks nat
    natalyaaf: D:
    PasTieZ: sio is going to ass rape me

    NatalyaAF ウラヌス: i am the baninator :D
    word jackd ת/ύ: ha the baninator and the pwninator

  2. #2
    CaNNoN fOddEr Kung Fu Master SmurfSniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Richmond Ky
    Age
    41
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:20295429
    Posts
    925
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Newegg.com - Mushkin Enhanced 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model 991558 Had 2 of these in my old pc
    Dont think the CAS latency will mess with anything but not 100% sure
    I dont think the price will go down anymore on ddr2 ram... atleast not till its so outdated that nobody wants it at all.

  3. #3
    N/U Zombie Whore N/U Commando
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scorch's backyard
    Age
    26
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:24098730
    Posts
    361
    Rep Power
    12
    [url=http://flashflashrevolution.com/profile/aznkilla50/][img]http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/profile/newsiggy/aznkilla50/stardust/0/0-1-2-3-4-5.png[/img][/url]

  4. #4
    Server *****istrator N/U Special Forces
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville,Florida
    Age
    30
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:16933477
    Posts
    503
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    try sticking old ram in your computer and see if it still does it, i have 2 512 sticks sitting here that i replaced with 2 2gb sticks
    [IMG]http://i750.photobucket.com/albums/xx144/nessav214/Onehit-1-1.jpg[/IMG]
    effshowٿ: you backstabber!
    onehit420: backstabber?
    effshowٿ: you started the orgie without me!
    [url=http://www.gameservers.com/?ref=1642968][img]http://images.gameservers.com/image_13.gif[/img][/url]

  5. #5
    Pwnerator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada.
    Age
    30
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:20224394
    Posts
    271
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    damn i learn a lot here just by reading :P
    [IMG]http://i40.tinypic.com/2lkfo86.jpg[/img]
    Kᴀʟᴇʏ Cᴜᴏᴄᴏ Fᴀɴ

  6. #6
    Єlιtus mєmєяєdus Pwnerator
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dragon's Fall; Alaska
    Age
    31
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:1:17364776
    Posts
    244
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Dont cross stack ram aof diff models. You will crash.
    Reason why DDR2 are still high, is the timing, and brand name.
    Crucial Ballistix are a great brand. I've almost always used ballistix tracerz.
    [CENTER][FONT=Fixedsys][CENTER][SIZE=4][COLOR=Red][FONT=System][B]I reject your reality and substitute with my own.[/B][/FONT]
    [/COLOR][/SIZE][/CENTER]
    [/FONT]
    [IMG]http://i47.tinypic.com/2i71q2x.jpg[/IMG]
    [/CENTER]

  7. #7
    Banned N/U Commando
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TEXAS
    Age
    52
    HlStats

    HLStatsX Ranking for STEAM_0:0:1352559
    Posts
    434
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i use corsair my self 6 GB in my machine but when ever i add the other 2 GB stick to run 8GB it crashes my win7....but if ya want to find out if it is your ram crashing your comp try removing 1 stick and see how things go...if it still crashes put the stick back in and remove the other one and see what happens...there are also free memory testing softwares out there just search google....problem could be bad stick of memory...a bad Dimm slot...or if you have OCed the ram in bios it could cause your crashes....Been there,done that and got the T-shirt...thats the best i can suggest. no point in buying more memory if it is a dimm slot problem or a setting in the bios. LaterZ

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ban Question
    By aiRforce1 in forum Counter Strike: Source Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-19-2009, 12:55 PM
  2. i've got a question
    By Aux in forum N00B Unlimited General Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-03-2009, 05:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •